Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

Hi. New to Motorcycles

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 03:51 PM
Diego32
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi. New to Motorcycles

Hey everyone. This past weekend we had a party up here in my hometown called bikes blues and barbeque. I fell in love with the sound and image the Harleys gave. Like the title says I'm brand new to motorcycles and it'd be awesome of you guys to help me out or give me some tips on what bike to get. I plan on selling my car since I'm going to Marine basic training in a couple of months. I won't need a car for a couple of years and and using part of that money to buy the bike. I have my eyes set on a 2012-13 Harley sportster 883 iron. I love the raw look it projects. Is this bike too much for me or any other bikes you reccomend? Thanks for the help in advance. Really happy to soon be a part of this lifestyle.

Old 10-04-2012, 04:03 PM
DK Custom Products
Sponsor
Received 49 Likes on 35 Posts

If you have never rode a motorcycle before, I would say you NEED to take a course, check with your local dealership and see what they offer. As far as a 883 Sportster being too much to handle... no. I am 5'7 125 lbs and I have a 1989 883 Sportster and I do just fine. Comfort is something you need to consider, once you go through the course and get your license, test drive different models before you pull the trigger on anything. Good luck in basic and keep your head up, it can be difficult and wear on you but its well worth it. Yes, I am speaking from expirence (Army). You also need to check and see what the Marines require as far as riding on base and in Military events. The Army required me to go through their training course. Best of luck and welcome to the Forum!

Support@DKCustomProducts.com

Old 10-04-2012, 04:22 PM
RonT1972
Cruiser