Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

New guy sport bike owner

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2011 | 07:00 PM
energie
|
Advanced
Default New guy sport bike owner

Hi everyone,
Not sure if I'll get greeted or scolded here but I have a street bike, a 2006 Suzuki GSXR750 and I've been looking to upgrade. I've been thinking down the aisle of another sport bike but then I saw the Iron 883 and I basically fell in love. I love the look of it and I sat on it and it feels good. I'm new to Harleys so forgive me. I've heard that this is more of a girls bike but I still like the look of it, 883 or not. What would everyone recommend?
Getting the Iron 883 and just riding it and enjoing it
Getting the 883 and doing a 1200/1250 kit on it?
Getting something bigger like a Nightster or a Blackline?

I've been riding for 5 almost 6 years and although Harleys are a lot heavier and the physics and handling are different I'm sure I could manage more than a starter bike.

I'd like to stick to the Iron, is there any pro charger options or anything along those power lines.

I'm not hoping to spark up any sportbike/harley hatred, I thought I'd never own a Harley but I have to admit they're nice and thinking of making a switch is a step in the right direction.

Thanks everyone.

Last edited by energie; 10-04-2011 at 07:02 PM.
Old 10-04-2011 | 07:03 PM
TUCCI
Extreme HDF Member

Welcome to the forum from sunny Arizona.

Old 10-04-2011 | 07:25 PM
YeOldeStonecat
Seasoned HDF Member

Welcome to the boards. And "Welcome to the club"
You won't get scolded....you've seen the light! Plenty of guys here that own Harleys also have a metric sport bike in the stable.

As for your question to which model to get?
Depends on the answers to some questions.