Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

Non-Biker Guy From Georgia

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2011 | 10:56 PM
bmac55
|
Stage II
Default Non-Biker Guy From Georgia

So, my 20 year old son comes home for Father's Day all excited about wanting to buy a motorcycle. Other than a few, very limited experiences on a dirt bike, he has no riding experience. He shows my wife and I page after page of bikes he likes and shares with us all of the advice he has received from friends who ride or who have ridden. Everything he shows us is a crotch rocket.

Well, other than a couple of years with a Honda 500 Four back in the mid-1970's, I have no experience either. So, I cannot be be terribly helpful myself directly. However, life experience tells me that I need to broaden his vision a little, so the following day I took him to our local Harley dealer for him to see and feel something different. BTW, when I first asked if he had looked at Harleys, he replied something to the effect "Dad, Harleys are for old dudes like you".

Long story longer, we go to the dealer and I introduce my son the the sales guy and give him the back story. I tell the sales guy to show my son something appropriate for a new rider and to make his best case for a Harley over a Japanese bike. He directs us to the Sportsters and had him sit on the different models they had on the floor. Clearly, if my son had a MC license, they would have let him test drive any of them.

Most interesting to me was that the sales guy spent more time getting me to sit on a variety of bikes than he did my son. I guess he assumed I had deeper pockets. I kept reminding him that I was not the one shopping, but he kept directing me to different bikes he thought I might like. I had a ball.