Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

NooB Here With A Question...

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2006 | 02:09 PM
randy78045
|
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Default NooB Here With A Question...

Hi everyone... i just bought an XL-50 Sportster (Anniversary Model) about two weeks ago and am luving it, but it needs to be cleaned up a bit... Here's the stupid question... Should i just wash the bike like i would a car? Hose it down, wash with soapy water, rinse and chamois? I am concerned with the open engine, wiring, etc that this might not be the way to go... Any advice for the NooB here?

Old 10-29-2006 | 02:44 PM
gdbro4
Cruiser
Default RE: NooB Here With A Question...

You can use a product called S100, sold at Harley and bike dealers. Spray on, hose off. Then I use my shopvac attachments to blow off all water, or you can use a leaf blower, than chamois off residual water. I wouldn't advise using shop air, because of the possibility of blowing oil or ? onto bike paint.

Old 10-29-2006 | 02:56 PM
Doodad
Outstanding HDF Member

Welcome from Colorado, lots of answers in the detailing section.

Old 10-29-2006 | 03:17 PM
cjmilez
Ultimate HDF Member

Welcome to HDF from Longview, TX!!!
[sm=biker2.gif]

Old 10-29-2006 | 03:35 PM
bikergirl40
Elite HDF Member