Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

Learning to ride on a Road King Custom? Advisable?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2006, 01:21 PM
UncleMurdoch
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Learning to ride on a Road King Custom? Advisable?

I'm a 37 year old who's looking to buy a Road King Custom by 2010 (gotta save the cash). I love that bike and really want to ride. I have very little motorcycle experience, however, and want to get some opinions. Is it wise to learn on such a heavy, powerful bike? Can I learn to ride without laying it down or otherwise destroying it? Am I just asking for trouble and damage to such a beautiful model? I plan on taking the Rider's Edge courses before buying, and I have no desire for crazy speed. I have excellent balance (I'm a unicyclist) and good upper body strength. What's the group consensus?

I've been told that I may want to get a smaller bike for the experience, but I'm barely justifying the Road King ambitions, much less a series of lesser bikes.

What's the opinion, realistically? Give it to me straight.

thanks,

ken

Old 10-19-2006, 01:50 PM
Legendary6301
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Learning to ride on a Road King Custom? Advisable?

Yes, Harley's are big and bulky. Especially and Road King Custom. If you have limited riding experience my suggestion would be to learn on a smaller bike. You don't want to spend a boat load of money on your "dream bike" with minimal experience and then drop it or get in an accident. You will be shelling out more money to get your bike fixed, provided it can be, and you won't be able to ride since the bike is in the shop and hopefully you won't be hurt. Buy a smaller used bike, like a Sportster 1200 or 883. Get confident on it, spruce it up, sell it and then get your "dream bike."

Just my opnion...