Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

How to Buy that new ride

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2011 | 11:29 PM
wooly1
|
Advanced
Default How to Buy that new ride

Hello everybody. im new and green to this forum.
i have been riding bikes for 40 yrs and now i am going to buy my first harley i am buying a 2011 road king classic by the end of the month. what i would like to know is how do i get a good deal ? i am from south west washington state. and i will buy from any dealer in oregon or washington. what can you tell me to do that will help me get the best bang for my buck. i thank all of you for your help and hope to meet alot of you passing down the winding road.
thanks wooly1

Old 03-09-2011 | 11:45 PM
lexington
Novice

I guess that it depends on where you buy it at. I just bought a new Superglide and looked at a lot of dealers. I mean I really looked, talked prices, didn't really get into the test ride thing though.
A salesman won't come down any off MSRP unless you are serious and ready to buy today.
I bought mine from Tilley in Salisbury, NC and it took about 4 hours to get the salesman down off MSRP, but I got it down.
Good luck

Old 03-09-2011 | 11:46 PM
FatBoyVeteran
Road Captain

Check all the dealers in the area. Check for internet specials, or advertised sales. Take any info/quotes you receive or find and print them out. Make the dealers fight for your business.

And don't back down. I walked out on my salesman twice and on the day I bought the bike, I walked out a few times until I got the price I wanted to get. Was even in the truck and pulling out of the lot at one point.

Make them throw in extras for free. Like free 1000 mile service is good.... Free helmet or something like that. Hell, for a $20K bike, I'll bet they can spare the $30 t-shirt at the minimum.....ya know?