Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

New guy with a decision to make

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2010 | 04:26 PM
stallone
|
Stage III
Default New guy with a decision to make

Hey everyone. This is my first post, though I've been reading here for a while. I've been riding for 15 years now at the ripe old age of 31. I'm from Minnesota. My last bike was a sportbike (Yamaha R6). I've ridden several Harleys, but never owned one and I am looking to change that.

So I came here to look for some recommendations. I'm trying to decide what to buy and I'm all over the place. I'm just going to throw all the different ideas that I have out there and see what you guys and girls think.

First idea - cheap used Sportster, find a used 883 or 1200 for around $4000 and pay cash and have a fun bike for a couple years. I like the peanut tank and could handle riding around on an 883. 1200 would be better for 2-up cruising. Both could be had for cheap enough (looking mid-90s on up locally and finding them for around that price).

Second - new Sportster like an Iron (cheaper), or Nightster or 48.

Third - new big bike - Dyna Super Glide Custom is preferred since it has everything I'm looking for (big bike, console speedo, passenger seat and pegs) and the price is good. I love the look of the new Wide Glide though. I just don't know if I want to pony up for it at this time.

Fourth - used big bike - this is last since I really don't like this idea when I could spend about the same and get a new big bike that I like (FXDC).