Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

Noob from NC, thinking about buying a Harley

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2005, 03:05 PM
Jay_Sensing
5th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Noob from NC, thinking about buying a Harley

Hello all, names Jay and I live in NC in the Marine Corps. Originally from Dallas Tx but have lived out here since 1996.

I have been seriously considering buying a Harley for the last 5 months and was looking for some opinions from those who have been on them for a while. I have been riding since 1994 on the road and the mid 80's on dirt. Always owned crotch rockets though for street bikes. Back in July I had a daughter and it's making a lot of changes in my life and I think I am about to sell my last crotch rocket in the next month or two. I have no desire to leave two wheels though as I absolutely love riding and do it year round. I even made a valid attempt at an iron butt back in 97 (not a good idea on a GSXR) and almost made it (about 120 short) and had a great time. I just want a different type of two wheeled enjoyment now and I am serioulsy considering a Harley.

Unsure of whether to purchase new or used for one. A lot of my friends have been riding them for years and my personaly favorite is the springer softail followed closely by a well done fat boy.