Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

Howdy! Ignition Fuse Blowing

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2020 | 03:24 PM
steve08fxstc
|
2nd Gear
Question Howdy! Ignition Fuse Blowing

I just joined the forum today. I have a 2008 FXSTC Anniversary model. Bought it a little over a year ago. Unfortunately, I have not been able to ride it. Not that I don't want to. The ignition fuse blows immediately. I put it away for the winter, November 2019. COVID hit, I got uninspired about several things - including the bike. Something recently clicked, and I got re-inspired. So, now I am on the troubleshooting trail to fix the problem.

Maybe someone can lend a hand and share some knowledge, so I don't have to go to the dealer! I was an avionic technician and First Sergeant during my 20 year US Air Force career. I'm familiar with using a multimeter, and not afraid of digging in, so to speak. Just prior to the fuse blowing problem surfacing, the only thing I did was install those plastic wings to deflect heat from my person. They're located below and in front of the seat, and sort of over the aft cylinder. There were no wires moved or pinched when I installed them - that I could tell. My first step in the trouble shooting process was to disassemble the ignition switch, clean it, and reassemble it. Still blowing fuses.

It turns out I was not a big fan of the drag bars, so I bought a new stock looking handle bar, and left and right switch assemblies. The drag bars had internal wiring to the switches. I thought since I'm not going internal, hopefully, that would solve the problem. I'm not upset about that. I wanted to change them out anyway. Still blowing fuses.