Welcome Area Only New Member Welcome Area Only. Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what Harley Davidson you own. Save your bike related questions for the proper area.

New to HD's from San Diego

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2015, 09:19 AM
TheEssence
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to HD's from San Diego

G'day all. Just bought an '07 xl1200r with 27k miles on it here in san diego. I've been riding for eleven years now. Started out in high school on a vulcan 750, then went to a Shadow 1100. After that I switched to street bikes for a while. Got an '05 ZX-6R for a while, then upgraded to an '09 Triumph Daytona 675. While I got that I started track riding and picked up an old superstock race '01 GSX-R600 which I tracked for about two years. Got tired of packing up for the track for weekends at a time, so I traded that for an '01 DRZ400S. Then I got rid of the daytona for an '09 Triumph Street Triple R. After riding the track for two years, riding a sport bike on the streets isn't fun anymore, or you have to go too fast to have any fun. So, I found a buyer for that and she will be gone in two weeks. Today I sold the DRZ and bought up the sporty. Hope everyone was able to follow that. The bike has a 2 into 1 exhaust on it, forward controls, some z bars, intake and a bobbed fender with a solo seat. I got it on the cheap because the dealer picked it up with no history. It has a clean title, but they know something has been done to the engine as far as mods. They are thinking a cam and maybe some head or valve work, but they're not entirely sure. The top is a little noisier than normal, but no clanging or anything, just some louder ticking from the top end, louder on the left side. But, it runs smooth and strong, and it's obviously had an ECM tune to go with whatever's been done because it runs great from what we can tell, and there's no popping or surging with the throttle. So, once I get it home, I'm going to tear it down an