Consider a new bike...looking for thoughts and suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2010, 01:07 AM
cknight98
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Consider a new bike...looking for thoughts and suggestions

Hey guys,

i'm a newbie here...just joined up. i've currently been riding a '98 Sportster 1200 for the past year, it was my first street bike. i love it, but i'm ready to move up to a bigger bike. i'm considering getting one of two totally different bikes, and i'm a crossroads and really just dont know what to do. i dont ride fast (under 80mph on interstate, 60mph on other roads). i do ride hard and i do like getting to those speeds rather quickly. i ride the mountain roads of East TN here, as well as the city roads and interstates. nothing majorly twisty honestly. i do ride with my girlfriend doubled up often with me as well, but there is quite a bit of solo riding too.

the two bikes i'm looking at is an 04 V-Rod VRSCB and an 09 Super Glide. i've test road them both, on the typical roads that i ride on, and i love both bikes. i love the low end torque of the Super Glide, i love the high RPM speed of the V-Rod, they both ride and feel good to me and nothing immediately points to one or the other. see my dilemma?

given all this, which would you chose for the average 100 mile day trips with occasional 300-400 mile weekends? i'm figuring for cruising around town, i'm going to be equally happy on either one...its the longer trips that worry me. oh yeah, and they both have the nice Sundowner bucket seat on them, which is pretty similar to the Mustang seat i have on my sporty at the moment...

thanks for any thoughts, opinions, advice, sarcasm, anything!

happy and safe riding!
Chris

Old 07-22-2010, 06:18 PM
DesertSpeed
Account Suspended
Received 1 Like on 1 Post