VRSC Models V-Rod, Street Rod, Night Rod and Night Rod Special

Touring on a Vrod?

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2007 | 02:41 PM
STEG
|
Road Captain
Default Touring on a Vrod?

Ok so Im relatively new to riding, and Ive had my sportster for a while and will have it for at least another 9 months but at the end of next august there is the national hog rally in miluake, and as of right now I'm living in upstate NY. Google says 950 miles for a direct route from our starting point to miluake but I figure were not going to be on highways the entire time and we will probably have some out of the way stops to make so my guess is around a 1500 mile journey halfway across the country, on a sportster...That dosent seem too appealing to me all of a sudden. Theres only one other sporty in the pack of bikes going to miluake and he is going to trade up, and I am planning on doing the same. My question to you guys is how far do you tour on your Vrods? are they comfortable for long periods of time?

I initially wanted a night rod, but because theres no foward control kits for them Im limited to the VRSCA and the Night Rod Special, I dont really like the VRSCA and the night rod special will be a tough one to find, and I wouldnt want to ruin it with all of the touring stuff on it (tour pack, bags, windshield etc) but I do like the foward controls. Does the night rod regular have an available foward control kit The 125 horses is appealing but at the same time I dont want to trade my sportster in, and I feel it will be neglected once I get the vrod.