Twin Cam Motors Twin Cam 1998 thru 2017

Knocking noise 110

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2023, 08:23 AM
TXHill
Advanced
Received 43 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Knocking noise 110

2 weeks ago walked around the dealership and got a good deal on a new RGS with trade in of my '19 SGS.. Also drooled over a '16 Breakout CVO sitting there..
When my RGS got delivered to my house, the guy also unloaded the Breakout. Gift from the wife as a side chick

I'm a total noob on the twin cam engines as I've only driven the M8. When I took the CVO out for a spin I noticed it's a more "raw" engine as the M8. I can hear (in my opinion) a fairly hard knocking noise form what I think, the front cylinder. I'm not familiar to know how this engine should sound so before I take it back to the dealer, I'd like to hear some opinions from veteran twin cam riders.

I've read some threads about the lifter issue with this engine, would that explain the knocking noise? Any help is appreciated! It has 14k on the odometer and most noticeable when cruising between 2500/3k RPM

Old 09-01-2023, 09:04 AM
djl
HDF Community Team
Veteran: Army
Received 2,227 Likes on 1,611 Posts

Tricky part about these Twin Cam noises is the listeners description. Knock, tick, rattle, all indicate the general source of the noise. Knock could indicate rod and or piston slap; tick usually indicates something in the valve train, i.e. lash, leaky lifter or rocker shaft rotation in the support plate. Rattle could be a symptom of detonation or something loose on the bike like a heat shield or a fastner somewhere letting something move around. Which is why when these posts come up, the usual request is for a video so we can hear the offending noise.

If you can, make a YouTube video and post a link here; it will help identify the source of the noise.

The following users liked this post:
Wagner_Russia (11-18-2023)
Old 09-01-2023, 09:16 AM
TXHill
Advanced

Originally Posted by djl