Oil in forward jug

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2022, 12:20 PM
Thebikerpiper
Advanced
Received 13 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Oil in forward jug

Hey guys,

I'm a shade tree mechanic. I retired a couple years ago and being fairly mechanically inclined, though never formally trained, decided to rebuild my 2000 Dyna Wide Glide on my own. I rebuilt it from the crank up, every bearing, seal, gasket, but, bolt and etc. has been replaced. I fired her up yesterday and she seems to be burning oil on the forward jug. What could be the possible cause and solution? Oh, I did increase it from an 88" to a 95"

My thought was maybe the jug is worn and needs to be bored out a little, like .1 over?

Thanks!

Old 05-06-2022, 12:27 PM
60Gunner
Grand HDF Member
Received 1,212 Likes on 904 Posts

Did you break it in? The rings need to seat. Usually takes 10 to 20 miles of proper break in for this to occur. Until then there will be significant blow by.

Old 05-06-2022, 01:16 PM
djl
HDF Community Team
Veteran: Army
Received 2,227 Likes on 1,611 Posts

What is the evidence of oil burning in the front cylinder? Could have a ring upside down or even broken; oil ring improperly installed?

Need more information on "88" to 95". HD BB kit, bored OEM cylinders to fit new pistons? How did you get from 88" to 95"? The above break in question needs to be answered as well, but the fact that the issue is isoloated to the front cylinder, I am more inclined to think something is wrong on that cylinder. I have not experienced "significant" blow buy until the rings seat if a proper break in procedure was used.

Last edited by djl; 05-06-2022 at 01:19 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by djl:
Max Headflow (05-06-2022), Steve Helton 2 (05-07-2022)
Old 05-06-2022, 01:44 PM
Thebikerpiper
Advanced