Twin Cam Motors Twin Cam 1998 thru 2017

88 Inch Puking Oil from Air Cleaner (Another thread)

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2022, 04:49 PM
BULA
Advanced
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default 88 Inch Puking Oil from Air Cleaner (Another thread)

I have searched this forum for my issue. That being said, I have read quite a few threads with similar problems. I have some knowledge on what I need do. But would like input on my situation.
Bike is a 2004 EGLIDE with about 14000 miles. I opened up the CAM chest about a month ago and the outside tensioner was halfway gone. That being said, I ordered a new updated cam plate, oil pump and cams. I did not run a compression test or leak down prior to the tear down. I honestly did not think it was needed. I wasn't having any issues with the bike prior to teardown of the CAM chest. I got everything back together and bike fired right up. The valve train was a little noisy, but I didn't think much of it as it is usually not quiet. Went for a ride, about 70ish miles. I went easy at first, but eventually got into the throttle. Bike was breaking up around 4200 rpm and when I got home I noticed oil down the side of the bike. I re-read directions that came with the lifters (woods) and then checked on the adjustable push rods that I have (Screaming eagle). I realized that I was a half a turn too loose. so I went in and readjusted the pushrods. I backed them all the way off and readjusted from zero lash. I was at approx .105" when I should have been at .125". After this adjustment, my valve train noise seemed to quiet down a bit and the bike is no longer breaking up at 4200 rpm. Still breaks up a bit closer to 5K but that may be a tuning issue. Can misadjusted pushrods cause that much of an issue?

The one thing that is not correct, is the oil puking from the breather. I finally pinpointed it to the breather today. I checked pushrod tubes and they look good. But there was a fair amount of oil coming from the air filter cover.