Twin Cam Motors Twin Cam 1998 thru 2017

Help! Stripped Screw Thread on Derby Cover!

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2021, 08:55 AM
bettorlate61
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Help! Stripped Screw Thread on Derby Cover!

I've had my Dyna for 4 years now and have tried to do all the work myself, but I'm still new at this "do-it-yourself" maintenance thing and have run into a skill/knowledge gap. After adding new primary fluid, I stripped the threading of one of the 5 screw mounts to the primary case. I used an inch lbs. torque wrench set to 95 and still managed to do this. Because I'm learning this as I go, I expect to run into things like this, and that's OK. Now how do I fix this? Thanks all.

Old 06-01-2021, 09:28 AM
roussfam
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 7,220 Likes on 3,753 Posts

Did you use a T27 bit?

Old 06-01-2021, 09:38 AM
Super Glidester
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Air Force
Received 18,279 Likes on 10,094 Posts

if you are saying its the threads, re tap it or helicoil it...if it is the torx head, drill it out/extract but try stuffing the next size over in first. start out easy then ramp it up to the surgery of drilling and extracting...

Old 06-01-2021, 09:44 AM
roussfam
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 7,220 Likes on 3,753 Posts

Originally Posted by roussfam
Did you use a T27 bit?
Originally Posted by Super Glidester
if you are saying its the threads, re tap it or helicoil it...if it is the torx head, drill it out/extract but try stuffing the next size over in first. start out easy then ramp it up to the surgery of drilling and extracting...
My mistake. He said he "stripped the thread" after adding primary fluid. I usually just go hand tight. Could you go for next closest size over of tap, either metric or standard and rethread before going the helicoil route?

Jim

Old 06-01-2021, 09:47 AM
Super Glidester
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Air Force
Received 18,279 Likes on 10,094 Posts