Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

My first real ride today, wow!

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2012 | 06:20 PM
dondee
|
Tourer
Default My first real ride today, wow!

After trading my FatBoy and my Superglide on the new TriGlide Monday night I was finally able to take a decent ride this afternoon. 170 mile round trip into the north GA mountains, and I had a ball. I intended to take a scenic pic or two with the trike in the foreground, but couldn't stop long enough-so here's one in my driveway if you missed it before:

It's been many years since I enjoyed a ride so much. The comfort was unbelievable compared to my others. I really felt like I could have gone on forever. I'm by no means an expert, but I now feel very confident on the trike negotiating curves and I know I'll continue to learn with time. Not that I'm a speed demon, but I was able to go around most curves at a much more reasonable speed than I anticipated. Someone here mentioned trying to do what the signs suggested, and that worked well. Straight-line riding is the most comfortable I remember in many years.

Let me just say this: anything I might have lost in the fun and cornering agility of a bike is more than made up for to me by losing the mental preoccupation with going over at a stop light or at low speed in a parking lot. It's like a giant cloud was lifted off my head, and I'm now again experiencing the sheer joy of motorcycling! I hope that makes sense to some of you.

An added benefit I hadn't counted on is the amount of interest folks have in these things. At one gas stop four different people came over to talk about it and compliment it. I even had people in cars coming up next to me and waving. And lest I should have been concerned, two wheelers still give the 'ol wave.

All in all my initial concerns are past me and I look forward to many years of enjoyment with the trike.