Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

Considering buying a trike, any advice?

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2012, 11:55 PM
Karen
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Considering buying a trike, any advice?

I am considering buying a trike in the near future. I have been riding for over 10 years. I am concerned about being able to hold up my 2 wheel bike much longer because of back and leg problems. My question is how much different is riding a trike to compared to riding a 2 wheel bike. I know it will be easier to hold up, but how different is the handeling?

Thanks
Karen

Old 04-10-2012, 02:24 AM
BETTY-BOB
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

First, welcome to the forum! I am new to 3wheels as well, picked up my trike in October. It's really not too different. I've been riding motorcycles on & off for over 20 years. When I bought my trike I was super nervous about the handling/steering. I sat on the trike for a couple of minutes just checking out the differences. Where the reverse was, cruise control, & what radio station I wanted to listen to, now that I had a stereo! LOL. Then I put it in motion in the parking lot, getting use to the heel/toe shift & manuevering some turns. After about 10 minutes, I hopped on the freeway & grinned the entire 45 minute trip home!

On two wheels you press left to go left. On three wheels you pull left while pushing right, to go left.

Also please check out our "Queens of the Road" Section for lady bikers.

Old 04-10-2012, 05:54 AM
msocko3
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 138 Likes on 120 Posts

Betty-Bob pretty much hit it on the head, got to also remember not to put your feet down and remember the back end of the trike is wider than the front end. The 1st time you ride one it would be best to practice doing figure 8's in a parking lot before hitting the road.

Old 04-10-2012, 07:05 AM
Rox
Advanced