Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ABS brake line change for handlebar install?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2014, 06:40 AM
Jerry L
Road Warrior
Received 254 Likes on 162 Posts
Default ABS brake line change for handlebar install?

I've got new handlebars coming from BR Custom bars. Should be here in a couple more weeks. These have a lot more pullback than stock (I needed it with the drop seat) so I'm thinking I'll have to get a longer ABS front brake line. Would you guys recommend buying a longer line (from who if yes), or getting a kit to make it myself (also from who)? I have some experience with making hoses, so that's not out of the question, but I'm not wanting steel braided lines, just plain black is fine with me. I just figured out today that I'll be replacing the line running from the ABS box to the bars, so I'll have to remove the tank, right? Thanks for any help.
Jerry

Old 07-30-2014, 06:59 AM
HDV-GLIDE
Elite HDF Member
Received 44 Likes on 30 Posts

A Magnum 2 piece line from the ABS unit to the master cylinder. Yes, the tank needs to come off. Very easy job, 3 bolts and pop the fuel quick connect. I did mine, bled the system (Speed Bleeders) and no air entered the ABS unit. Just keep the lines (old & new) higher then the ABS unit while installing.

Old 07-30-2014, 08:14 AM
dochawken
Road Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Jerry L