Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me with GPS routes etc (Garmin 665)

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2014, 12:08 AM
MontyCop05
Road Master
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Help me with GPS routes etc (Garmin 665)

Ok guys I have a Road tech 665 that I had mounted on my 10' and kept when I traded that in for a 14' LTD. Given the craptastic GPS system in the Rushmore bikes, and my propensity to want to ride documented great bike roads and routes, I've mounted it on my 2014. What I really need is someone to help me figure out how to create custom routes and save and import them into the Garmin for use on a few planned bike trips I'm doing this season. I'm a novice when it comes to GPS stuff like this but pretty good with computers overall. I'm using a MAC if that makes a difference. I don't know if I should be using basecamp (which I have) or some other software. I joined the Garmin forum to learn about all this but was quickly overwhelmed trying to search for the info I needed. If someone would be willing to break this all down to a "GPS for dummies" level and help me learn, it would be greatly appreciated.

Brief synopsis of what I'm trying to accomplish: I have plenty of paper maps with routes on them (America rides maps) that I want to copy into a software program and dump into my Garmin. I'm also a subscriber to Backroads magazine which offers rides in every issues as well as access to gpx files for download. I prefer to NOT have to use the Harley ride planner as I find it cumbersome and difficult to use sometimes.

Old 03-01-2014, 12:54 AM
Stag556
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

In my experience, it's worth it to learn and use Base Camp. Harley ride planner doesn't import the maps correctly to the gps whereas Base Camp imports the exact route you created.

Old 03-01-2014, 01:09 AM