Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Completely speechless

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2013, 09:04 PM
gotwages
Tourer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Completely speechless

So today I went down to the big Harley dealer on the island and the one closest to my house to pick up the oil and kit I needed to knock out my 1000 mile service. I have been a generator mechanic for ten years in the Air Force and I was raised around Harley's so I am very comfortable doing my own maintenance. I feel that the owner is the one who cares the most about the bike so I do all my own maintenance because to many dealers, a bike is a bike is a bike and they could really careless sometimes. Anyways...I get all my oil and gaskets and head down to the device department to see if they had a checklist for the 2014 SG yet or a service manual I can take a look at. I know there is a good list in the owners manual but I wanted to verify a few things first. He tells me they have a generic checklist that they use for all bikes. So I ask him to look at the service manual, they don't have one. So I ask him what he will use when they do customers bikes. He says they will just follow the generic checklist. Well sorry but not all bikes are the same. Most of the items are the same, yes, but he just showed an overall lack of caring when it comes to properly doing a service. On my way out I placed an order for a 2014 SG service manual so I can make sure I did everything I needed to. So I went home, followed the checklist in the owners manual and then checked every nut and bolt I could check for security and tightness with a torque wrench, replaced all the fluids, inspect everything and took it for a ride. So the point me my rant is to be very careful who does your maintenance because they are not only holding your vehicles reliability in their h