Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP - Engine start but NO power

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2013, 03:42 PM
jackhis
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default HELP - Engine start but NO power

Hi all,
My bike suddenly have issue(s).
The engine is start but it is very rough, and idle is less than 1k RPM. If I try to rev than it very slowly increases the RPM to about 2000 RPM, and it appears like there is no "power" at all.
I have noticed that I didn't hear the automatic pressure release sound when I turn on the ignition switch.
I did the code retrieve and the only error code is B1155 (neutral switch shorts to ground). I don't have a breakout box and I have no knowledge about this part, so I cannot do anything.
I still think the engine problem is not related to the neutral switch shortage, as the N light is still on, and gear shifting is fine.
My first suspicion is fuel problem, but I need some suggestion of where I should to start to diagnose.
Eventually, I will have to build or buy a breakout box.
Any help will be appreciated.
Nick

Old 09-14-2013, 07:07 PM
2-Piece
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Sounds like you're on the right track with your initial thoughts. If you fuel pump is failing it will definitely give you low power. Any backfire or popping from the air cleaner?

Old 09-14-2013, 07:16 PM
Guntoter
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 101 Likes on 81 Posts

I had a person ask me what was wrong with his bike that was doing essentially the same thing. It would start, but not run real good and when he turned the throttle it ran rough and would not accelerate and would die. Turned out it was a simple fix: it was nearly out of gas.