Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tools in the garage?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2013, 07:32 PM
F35Chappy
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tools in the garage?

I was just wondering what kind of Harley/motorcycle specific tools you experienced guys or gals would suggest having on hand in the garage? I have lots of tools for working on cars and trucks so, the basic wrenches, sockets etc. are covered. I just started riding late last year and the only motorcycle specific tool I have purchased is a high-rise lift. Thanks in advance for your time and I greatly appreciate your advice.

Old 06-20-2013, 07:48 PM
ddm502001
Road Warrior
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

I have a basic cycle frame jack, been looking to add a full size table lift but cannot justify it yet. I was a wrench for a long time so I amassed a lot of Snap-On and Mac Matco tooling, some Craftsman, some the latest Kobalt stuff from Lowes isn't too bad either. For bits like TORX or high stress Phillips I use SnapOn as they do seem to last better and not explode when I need to press my luck on tight screws.

Old 06-20-2013, 08:03 PM
F35Chappy
Intermediate

I need better TORX tips. I have a lot of Craftsman and Kobalt tools and they all work great for me. I have a decent collection of air tools and a good enough air compressor. I have tons of gunsmithing tools but, those obviously don't do me any good on the bike!

Old 06-20-2013, 08:12 PM
lh4x4
Extreme HDF Member
Received 932 Likes on 574 Posts

Very few external parts on a HD need specific tools. Engine work yes. But even then there or other options.

I have only two specific HD tools. The belt tension gauge and the shock wrench
to set preload. But they sit as I use the half twist on the belt and an old metric wrench that has better leverage than the HD one.