Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

red fluid out of the air shock valve

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2013 | 08:44 PM
limeyhusker
|
Advanced
Default red fluid out of the air shock valve

I am new to air shocks. Just tinkering with my new (to me) RK and I thought I would check the air fill valves. Anyhow....when I depressed the valve needle in on the front shock valve, a red fluid came out. Does that mean my shock seals are busted???

Old 06-15-2013 | 09:09 PM
TUCCI
Extreme HDF Member

The shocks are filled with an oil and it's not uncommon for some to make it's way out on occasion, I wouldn't worry about it until your getting a lot of oil coming out from the stem.

Old 06-16-2013 | 01:24 AM
JafaDog
Novice

From the owner's manual: "Always add 3-5 psi 21-35 kPa to the existing pressure before releasing air from the system to prevent oil for exiting the air valve. NEVER exceed 50 psi 345 kPa." Of course if you normally run the shocks at 50 psi (recommended pressure for 2-up and fully loaded up to GVWR), and you're not supposed to exceed 50 psi, I guess you risk it by either not adding 3-5 psi or by going over 50 psi (briefly).

Old 06-16-2013 | 07:06 AM
limeyhusker
|
Advanced

Thanks for the responses. I feel better now!
As I have read else where, you have to be careful when talking about air suspention. I should have been more specific. There is definately no mention of adding pressure before releasing air in my manual....BUT... my RK is a '97!

My bad for not mentioning that. Just did not want you to think I was one of those types to ask a question here before checking my own manual.

It is kinda cool that I have the origional manual....plus the dealers spec sheet for the bike!

Old 06-16-2013 | 08:47 AM
basselope
Road Captain