Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

questions about headgasket replacement '96 rk

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2013 | 08:13 PM
griffsyj
|
Advanced
Default questions about headgasket replacement '96 rk

Well the headgasket on the rear cylinder blew on my '96 road king (stock 80in evo) and I have a few questions regarding replacing them since I've never done it before. I'm going to replace both head gaskets, and both base gaskets for the jugs. Bear with me because I haven't opened my manual yet to look into how to do this...its sitting in my friend's garage instead of at my house. Don't ask me why a head gasket blew on a 41000 mile motor....I couldn't tell you why half the stuff broke and went bad on this scooter since I bought it last May.

I plan on replacing the base gaskets on the jugs because I'm worried that they will be the next to blow. If I put new head gaskets in, then they become the next weak link..and given my history of bad luck with this scooter, I might as well do it so they don't blow on me in Myrtle Beach in May.

First question, can I replace the jug base gaskets without pulling the motor out of the bike? I believe they are held in place with studs, so I'm not sure if I will have the clearance required to do so with the motor in the bike.

Second question if first question is yes: Am I going to have to get into the bottom end and disconnect the pistons in order to pull the jugs off?

And lastly, Any tips or tricks, or special tools I need to buy/ modify in order to do this with the motor in the frame?

Old 03-10-2013 | 08:54 PM
mkguitar
Extreme HDF Member

it is all in the manual- so make sure you follow the steps-- keep it in the can and read through it a few times before you start- make sure you already have ALL the tools you will need before you start.

gas tank off

remove heads