Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rider backrest.. Does it help with comfort ?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2013, 10:50 AM
2011FXDC
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Rider backrest.. Does it help with comfort ?

This may have been discussed before but I'm new to this section. Yes I know I could search but I'd rather just get some straight up answers. I'm coming from a Dyna Super Glide Custom and compaired to that the stock FLHX seat is pretty good. I was looking at the rider backrests though and wondered if they really make any difference in comfort or back support. I don't have any major back issues but if it adds some support that would be nice. Any real world opinions/reviews would be great. Thanks

Old 03-02-2013, 10:59 AM
danosrs
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a RK with a Mustang solo with back rest and love it. When on the highway without windshield it keeps me from having to hang onto my 16" apes like I'm gonna fly off. Get it you will love it and if you don't they are easy to sell.

Old 03-02-2013, 11:04 AM
89FLHT
Stellar HDF Member
Received 150 Likes on 83 Posts

I added the HD adjustable backrest to my 11 SG with the stock seat. I did not like how high the back rest was above the street glide seat ( as the unit is really designed to fit the larger electra glide seat). Also, with the gap, I was not getting the support for my lower back that I really needed. So... I cut, sectioned and rewelded the vertical bar that the backrest attaches to so that the bottom of the backrest sits flush with the streetglide seat. That took less than an hour to do in the garage (bandsaw and mig welder).