Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Road King Custom

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2007, 05:28 PM
moblul
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Road King Custom

hi folks -- i'm a newbie to the forum and to riding, so bear with me in case my incessant questions become annoying.

i have the opportunity to purchase a 2004 Road King Custom for a great price, and i'm strongly considering taking it. i like the old-school tough look of the bike -- it reminds me of the old bikes from the 50s.

i've been looking around the internet for some information and have run across some reviews and posts in other forums that complain about a couple of things that concern me.

the two main complaints that i've read are:
1) the bike is sometimes rough-riding on bumpy roads because it has been lowered & 2) the bike is uncomfortable and hard to steer because of the beach bar handle-bars.

does anyone who rides or has ridden a Custom find these to be true?

like i said - i really dig how the bike looks, but i don't want to buy it if it is hard to handle or if my wife will get all banged around while riding on less than perfect roads (which most are around here).

thanks in advance for any help!!

-G

Old 02-02-2007, 05:40 PM
wesd41
Road Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Road King Custom

Wrangle a ride on that bad boy and decide for yourself if it suits you.

Better shocks and different handlebars are easy fixes. Few people don't have some kind of issue with something when they buy a bike. That's why there's an aftermarket.

Old 02-02-2007, 05:55 PM
tmitchellof PG
Elite HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts