Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Abs reprogramming

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2012, 10:05 AM
Titan56
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Abs reprogramming

Yesterday I went Harley to pickup some parts. I said I wanted to put a bigger custom front wheel on my streetglide but is has abs and wanted to know how much it was for a reprogram. He went in the back and asked a tech I assuming and came back and told me it does not need to be reprogrammed it reads off the wheel bearings. Being a tech by trade I said im sorry but hes wrong. The front and rear wheels compare them selfs to one another. If you put a bigger wheel on the wheel would spin slower and if you put a small wheel on it would spin faster. He said but it reads off the wheel bearing, I said it does not matter so does a car, if you were to put on one bigger tire on a car it would screw the abs all up and would not be safe. He said real cocky I think the guy in the back knows what hes talking about I said thats fine thanks anyway. Has anyone had any experience with putting on a bigger wheel on the front of an abs bike? Maybe im wrong but I think it would screw up the abs and the bike would not stop as you come to a stop and would be dangerous.

Old 12-02-2012, 10:14 AM
Johnny103ci
Cruiser

I had a 21" put on the front and a 17" on the rear with no ABS issues.

Old 12-02-2012, 10:23 AM
3408pete
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Dont some of the tuners take care of this??I think I saw something on this on Yaffes sight a while back.I have also heard some people just let it have the error code but then there is brake bias but I cant remember to which end.I have no real experience and am just going off of memory on things I have read wanting a similiar project in the future