Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Getting harder to trust my service dept.

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2012 | 01:27 AM
Dr. Tiki
|
Stellar HDF Member
Default Getting harder to trust my service dept.

I am really trying to like my Service Department... but lately.... it's getting harder to.

I have been taking my bike into the dealership for all maintenance because partly I wanted the service records, partly I didn't have the time to do it myself, and partly I just made excuses and frankly I like my service dept. and their prices were not too bad actually considering the price of consumables along with the discount that I got for basic oil changes.

But lately I wanted to get my hands dirty and I did my first oil change at home. Now, I have done my own maintenance before on my other bikes so I'm not a novice... just lazy.

but man... am I glad I started to look after my own bike instead of relying on the dealership.

I present to you, my drain plug...

After seeing this and then there was my fuel tank mounting bolts before... I'm really having hard time telling myself that the dealership knows what they are doing.

Old 11-26-2012 | 02:07 AM
glcash
Road Warrior

Uh what's wrong with the drain plug? Looks normal to me.

Old 11-26-2012 | 02:11 AM
drukanfu
Supporter

What do you think is wrong with the drain plug ?

Old 11-26-2012 | 02:29 AM
mgmmgm
Outstanding HDF Member

To me, the threads look rough and that Teflon tape or something was put on the threads.

Maybe a new O ring could be put on, as the one in the picture not so good.

Maybe get a new drain plug ?

Old 11-26-2012 | 03:48 AM
00FattyT
Tourer