Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Once again, the 1 K service

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2012, 05:08 AM
HDJIM1158
Road Warrior
Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Once again, the 1 K service

Sorry but once again, The 1 K service. I do all my own services on my vehicles, bikes and gas powered tools. A little training but mostly self taught. I fully plan to do all my services after the 1K but I am being told by friends, let the dealership do the first.... just to make sure ???? I don't see the point as I know I will do as good of a job and more than likely a better job because I will take my time and go thru every line on the list. Not saying that the dealership will cut corners but they are given a lot less time. It takes me about 4 hours after leaving it drain over night. Is there any advantage of letting the dealership do the 1K over doing it yourself "correctly" and keeping the receipts and making notes ????

Sorry for bringing up an old question, Be Safe JIM

Old 09-03-2012, 06:01 AM
ElectraGlideSteve
Road Warrior
Received 93 Likes on 61 Posts

Just a way for the dealer to get another few hundred from you, as with the 5k, 10k or any other k service they recommend.

I've always had my doubts....I'm sure most service departments are honest. But, I always think, what if they charged you $300-$600 for the "service" and just change the fluids, and send you on your way. How would you ever know?

Get a service manual and do it yourself. There's nothing "mystical" about these bikes if you have a little mechanical ability and some basic tools.

I have an '08 that I bought new, the last time it was at the dealer was the day I took delivery.
Same with every other car or bike I've bought in the last 45 years.
I have never had any warranty issues refused.