Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Total newbie questions.....

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2012, 12:14 AM
01ntrainultra
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Total newbie questions.....

Ok....so here goes. I'm looking for lots and lots of input....

I just purchased a used 02 Ultra Classic. This is my first venture into a touring bike, as my last bike was a Night Train.

The bike was shipped to me, so when I got it off the truck today I noticed several things that are a bit different than my Night Train, but they are technically the same engine(T/C 88)

My biggest issue is a pretty serious engine vibration problem at idle. As far as I know about this bike, it's totally stock. It also pops quite a bit when I let off the throttle. Not that this is a big problem for me, but wondering if it's affecting the engine at all. It just seems like it's starving for power....and I know it's there because the NT had it.

I plan on doing a Stage 1 upgrade right off the bat, and adding some new slip-ons to let this thing breathe easier. That should help a lot. What I'm concerned is about the vibration issues. The NT never had it....in fact, that bike was as stable as they came, until I got on it.

Bring on the knowledge....

Old 07-23-2012, 12:31 AM
Matt0987
Road Captain
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Pop might be loose exhaust header and/or pipes.

How many miles on it? A tune up might be in order. Wires, plugs, etc.

I always change out the oils when I get a "New to me" machine. Just to know that all is fresh and it is whatever oil I like.

Vibration may simply be new motor mounts if the old ones are shot.