Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

road king ...or is it just me

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2012 | 06:47 AM
larry harding
|
Advanced
Default road king ...or is it just me

i've been riding for nearly 50 years, i'm 5'10" and 185 lbs so i'm no wimp. in 05 i bought a new road king, my first touring bike after riding a 76 superglide for 29 years. i love the way this bike ride out on the hiway, but in a parking lot it is the most terrifing thing i've ever been on. first it is a hand full to get off the side stand. i knew it is a heavier bike than i was used to, but what really bothers me is if it gets more than a few degrees from from straight up, it is going to the ground. the seating position is so high my feet can barely sit flat on the ground in a level place. yesterday the boss lady and i were making a left turn to get on the blue ridge parkway. the road was slanted down hill to my left, a car suddenly came around a curve into view. i had to stop and the bike started to lean left, by the time my left foot touched the ground it was too late, down on the crash bar we went. she bruised her knee in the process and will never let me live it down. it was all we could do to right the bike up again. i have a knuckle head and a 47 indian both have a lower center of gravity and feel like minibikes compared to the road king. why does harley build these with such a high center of gravity? i once heard someone say "the japs must think all americans are 6"4" the way they put the seating position" i think harley has the same idea. i really want to keep this bike but this is getting dangerous. there have been other instances where the bikg got a little leaned to the side and there was no stopping it from falling after a certain point.

Old 07-02-2012 | 07:23 AM
CrusingHarley
Cruiser

Originally Posted by larry harding