Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2010 Ultra sour grapes, or old fool?

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2012, 12:19 AM
jazzy jack
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2010 Ultra sour grapes, or old fool?

First off I'm not looking to start any arguements, this is only my observation.

Just bought a 2010 Ultra Classic, traded in my 2001 Ultra Classic. I am not impressed with the new bike. Riding geometry seems high some how, kind of like riding a BMW tourer not like a Harley at all. I've been riding HD for more than 30 years and this bike does not feel like a HD to me (remember only my opinion here) The ride seems much stiffer and I'm likely wrong about this but it seems longer too?!?!? And what's the point of a 6th gear, unless you are doing 80 mph or more the engine is lugging in 6th. I don't mind travelling at 80 or 100 mph but it eally isn't practical, I never had a problem exceeding 100mph with 5speeds either.

I don't know, maybe I'm just getting old and cranky, but this bike seems to have no soul. I feel like it's almost as if HD was trying too hard to be something more like every other bike.

Just my opinion folks, let the old man rant.

Old 06-06-2012, 01:35 AM
IKnowNot
Road Master
Received 124 Likes on 105 Posts

Don’t know how to answer, but I will try.

First, Riding geometry seems high:
When was it made, and does it have the stock seat?
The seat on the 09s and early 10s put the rider higher then the newer versions. I believe it was sometime in Feb. of 2010 they started shipping with the lower seat due to complaints. ( there may be threads here I this, I am not sure. )