Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Does lowering really impact handling?

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2012 | 02:10 AM
Ben E
|
Road Captain
Default Does lowering really impact handling?

Shocks are the next mod and i would love to come down an inch front and rear (probably Ohlins and monotubes). Lot of conflicting posts--some folks saying lowering definetly negatively impacts handling others saying no difference. What's the deal? Is it a matter of degree? Will one inch really matter?

Old 05-30-2012 | 02:29 AM
Saddle Tramp
Cruiser

i have a 06 EGC, all i can say is i used lowering blocks on the rear and lowered it 3 inches, i think it rides better, shocks still have same amount of travel in them, i might be saying this wrong but im not a engineer, but i think it changed the geometry of the front end also and i think it actually rides better and i know it handles better, even took some of the wobble out of it in corners. As far as loseing ground clearance, there is no doubt i did however i have yet to have to take a curve slower than i wanted to because of the decresed ground clearance, yeah in parking lots turning sharp it drags the boards more, driveway curbs yes i bottom the bike out if im not carefull but that has only happened a couple times as you learn where these places are and avoid them.Over all im more than pleased with the changes it made, im 5ft5 and it sure made a world of differance being able to get both feet on the ground flat and makes it alot eaiser to back up. But i know you will hear just as many things bad about it as good, but its a touring bike, if i was road racing it i wouldnt of done it but i dont need to lean and drag my knee, good luck with what you decide and i hope this helped.

The following users liked this post:
LMCI-Enforcer (03-14-2020)
Old 05-30-2012 | 05:21 AM
Kesean