Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Progressive Monotube, Ohlins Motorcycle Metal install

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2012, 09:30 PM
Bonkulator
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Progressive Monotube, Ohlins Motorcycle Metal install

It was a dark and stormy night. No, no.......

I am a sophomore at a small midwest....No, not that either....

Here we go...Progressive Monotube front suspension install and Ohlins rear shocks via Howard at Motorcycle metal.

Let me state at the git-go that Howard was helpful and knowledgable. Delivered as advertised.

’08 Harley FLHT. I weight 170# and ride solo on back country roads. The stock front suspension is under-sprung and under-damped. This condition is most seriously manifested by the creepy KA-CHUNK we’ve all experienced whilst negotiating rough pavement. I could also drag the under carriage pretty much at will, which to me is an indication of a badly sacked suspension.

FRONT SUSPENSON
I ordered Progressive Monotubes as a cost effective option.

I find Haynes Manuals to be a decent reference.

I’m a big fan of anti-seize compound.

The corners of the fork caps are manufactured rounded to the extent that a box end wrench cannot gain purchase. This issue is crucial if you are trying to service the forks after removing the front portion of the fairing. The only way in is with a box end...to a frogging nut with missing corners. (Why!) Anyway...enter the Schley (SCH67250) Harley Davidson Front Fork Cap Wrench. Well worth the money.

Hold a rag over the top of the fork tube whilst removing the nut that retains the spring inside the fork. Wrench over the rag. When the nut springs loose the rag will catch the nut.