Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PBR300x2 Cutting Off -- Please Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2012, 09:57 PM
murph
Elite HDF Member
Received 22 Likes on 13 Posts
Default PBR300x2 Cutting Off -- Please Help

I'm asking for some help with my Rockford Fosgate PBR300x2 amp. I was riding today and the amp started to clip. Sound would go off and come back on with in a few seconds. It did this a couple of times towards the end of the day. It would clipped a few times and then work for awhile with no problems. Clip again and then work for awhile with no problems. When I started riding this morning, there were no problems. It was hot today. The temp gauge on my SG read over a 100. I'm not sure where it was taking it's readings. Anyways, the amp finally stopped working all together. No sound at all coming through the speakers. I tried turning off the bike, but nothing.

I rode it home and let it sit for awhile. I took out the 30 amp fuse for the power to the amp. When I put it back in the stereo worked great. I'm still worried this will happen again. Anyone have any words of wisdom. I hope this is an isolated incident. Should I call Sonic Electronix or Rockford with this problem or wait to see if it does it again? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advanced.

Old 05-06-2012, 10:28 PM
CC Rainman
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It sounds like the amp was overheating. When the amp gets too hot it shuts down o protect the circuits. My Arc use to do that. I turned my gain down in my Arc and it solved the problem. Trying turning the gain down slightly and see what happens.

Old 05-06-2012, 10:31 PM
pittz5
Road Warrior
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts