Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

leather pants vs chaps

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2006, 03:39 AM
harley0711
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 95 Likes on 81 Posts
Default leather pants vs chaps

I am a Firefighter - had a M/C accident call the other night.. rider had chaps on - Road Rash on butt from sliding - Never really gave much thought to that being the one spot Not covered in leather by chaps ,,, Anyone here wear the leather pants??? This guy sure wishes he had them on instead of the chaps... or was this guy just having really bad luck - looking for info from those that have Real life experence here on slides/road rash...

Old 12-31-2006, 03:49 AM
Mountainkowboy
Grand HDF Member
Received 1,010 Likes on 544 Posts
Default RE: leather pants vs chaps

I wear chaps but have been looking at the FXRG over pants with the armor. I've gone done more than once and have never chewed through my butt, but if I go down I turn into an Armadillo and roll.

Old 12-31-2006, 04:54 AM
watrousmark
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I wear Draggin jeans, they have a kevlar mat in the butt and knees, made in USA also. Chaps work pretty well with the Buell they alow me to move around during hard cornering. Seems like they don't do much on the Street Glide to stop the wind in the one place I want to keep warm

Old 12-31-2006, 08:17 AM
dog155
Extreme HDF Member
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts

The wife and both used to wear leather pants,until the first day it really turned off hot.After that we always wear chaps,at least we can take them off for a little cooler ride.

Old 12-31-2006, 09:25 AM
Ben U

My wife and I wear chaps when it's cool ... and go down to jeans when it gets warm. I've been down twice, both times wearing jeans with no road rash ... maybe I was just lucky.