Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Difference between a Biker and a owner of a M/C

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2012, 05:27 PM
Yardstick
Road Captain
Received 44 Likes on 30 Posts
Default Difference between a Biker and a owner of a M/C

I am my organization's motorcycle safety rep. Logical in the sense that I have been riding since 1970. For those of you who are recent participants...back then we didn't have safety courses and life wasn't so PC. Remember PC...that comes into play here. I do remember when I was young and made to go to mandatory safety meetings, I personally thought...why? Does the purported expert even participate? Has he/she ever experienced that accidents that can happen when you are young and dumb? Are they in touch with reality.

So, our meetings are mandatory for the young riders. I was trying to get them to participate in a group ride (own their own time) and I have told them many times of the different dumb a$$ mistakes I have made over the years. I also told them that I believe we should push our skills envelopes to hone those skills and keep them sharp.

Anyway when we (the group) was discussing where to ride, we talked about the three twisted sisters in texas. (see you tube). Some of them expressed hesitation about that challenging ride. I told them it isn't that bad if you control yourself. Told them I rode the curves with no hands. Later, started telling war stories about people you run into riding. Something about an invitation for me and a friend to double time this lady. I declined as I ain't that crazy.

Well, one fella took exception about how can the safety guy tell the no hands story. And he was offended by the story of the double team offer. I kinda agree with that part...even though I believed the meeting to be over...not the place/time for it.