Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2012 Street Glide Ape Install Tutorial

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2012, 06:17 PM
murph
Elite HDF Member
Received 22 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 2012 Street Glide Ape Install Tutorial

First of all, I know I'm no professional mechanic. I don't pretend to be. This tutorial is made for average people who want to install their own bars and cables. There may be some better ways to do some of the things I have done. If so, please post them. When I started this project, I tried to find a good tutorial to help me. I found some. I wanted to try to make it more complete. I'm not trying to say other people's post were not good enough. I'm just trying to add to what is already posted here. Ok, now that the disclaimers are done let's get to the tutorial. Please know I made plenty of mistakes, but at the end everything works fine......

Tools Needed:
  1. Homemade, or store bought, ignition tool
  2. various sockets..(hex, star... long and short.. get the hex with the rounded head, star)
  3. in/lb torque wrench (mine are CDI Torque made by SnapOn)
  4. ft/lb torque wrench (mine are CDI Torque made by SnapOn)
  5. Service Manual - (Very important.. You should get one as soon as you buy the bike)
  6. split ring tool (trust me you will need it)
  7. of course various sizes of screw drivers
  8. Did I say service manual...
  9. plenty of old towels to wrap painted parts
  10. new clutch release cover gasket (it's only $5.00)
  11. New tranny fluid (I used Spectra)
  12. New brake fluid (Mine uses DOT4)
  13. Different sizes of extensions (I used heat shrink on all of my extensions and ratchets... worked great to protect from banging against the bike)