Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

speaker question

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2012, 08:29 PM
blockzilla
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default speaker question

a little help needed from you audio experts , as I know nothing about it... I was going to purchase the new Fosgate PBR300X2 amp for my roadglide , and I noticed it is rated at 150 watts per channel @ 2 ohms , but only 100Watts at 4 ohms... now I notice that all the aftermarket speakers like Focal 165s are 4 ohms... so will I be better to try and find some 2 ohm speakers or will 100 watts x 2 speakers be enough ?? and will there be a problem wiring up this amp to my stock head unit ?? Like I said , I am not an audio expert so hoping for good advice on here ...thanks

Old 03-02-2012, 08:44 PM
piesik650
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would buy the 300x4 just because your 4ohm speaker options are better. somewhat there are alot of good 2 ohm speakers out there I just can only name Infinity.

Old 03-02-2012, 09:07 PM
blockzilla
Cruiser

Well I am not sure what all the terminology means , but if I am thinking right , the 300x4 only has 75 watts per channel , instead of the 150 or 100 that the 300x2 has ... and since I will only ever have the 2 speakers , wouldnt I be shooting myself in the foot with the lesser power of the 300X4 ????

Old 03-02-2012, 09:16 PM
piesik650
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I guess if you can find a speaker that can handle 150watts RMS at 2 ohms that would be the way to go. since your not "planning" lol on going for a four speaker setup.

Old 03-02-2012, 09:37 PM
onthelo
Road Master