Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can Of Dry Gas

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2012, 07:15 AM
Geezr Glidr
Grand HDF Member
Received 264 Likes on 131 Posts
Default Can Of Dry Gas

Anybody use dry gas regularly? My son (who doesn't ride) stopped at the house yesterday. We got talking about the ethynol at the gas pumps, and he suggested dry gas every 2nd or 3rd fillup. I'm not a mechanic. What does it do --- help get rid of moisture in the tank? Do you recommend it in the bike, if you've used it?

Old 03-02-2012, 07:39 AM
cubalz
Road Captain
Received 42 Likes on 35 Posts

I have never used it nor known anyone to use it in their bikes. Seafoam is popular though.

Old 03-02-2012, 07:45 AM
riteway
Extreme HDF Member
Received 988 Likes on 679 Posts
Question

Dry Gas ???? I also add seafoam on a regular basis. You should be able to find alot of info if you do a search here on HDF..

Old 03-02-2012, 07:51 AM
roadking2014
Road Warrior
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

on a motorcycle you introduce atmosphere every time you open the gas cap and I dont think the alcohol in the dry gas will prevent moisture if the out side of the tank is colder than the inside. but the alcohol will make the engine, well feel like its running on alcohol so you may think "hey this stuff is great" hickup!!
anyway if you keep the tank filled it will keep moisture down in the gas tank just as well.
well thats just my opinion and according to the chemist and physicist here its usually wrong.

Old 03-02-2012, 08:50 AM
ks6c
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

With 10% ethanol required at most pumps anymore, you're getting a gallon of "dry gas" for every 10 you put in your tank. Putting a can of pure ethanol/methanol in your tank on top of all that wouldn't serve any purpose (except to rob you of even more power).

Old 03-02-2012, 09:04 AM
tibadoe