Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cutting and Raking Frame myself or professionally

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2012 | 09:45 AM
Badda-Bing
|
Advanced
Default Cutting and Raking Frame myself or professionally

Hey guys. I have been looking at all the pics of people cutting their frames. Did you do it yourself or did you pay someone to do it. Wanting to do the hhi kit on my 2010 SG. I live very close to Cam-tech and 200 miles away from HHI. They will do the mods (just welding in the extension) for about 23-2500 bucks. I am a cerified welder and can strip the bike down no problem. I can do it for half the price. Any problems or disadvantages by doing it myself? Would resell be better if I had a professional do it? Thanks- Getting started soon

P.S. No one in area has bikes with 23" or 26" wheels to talk to. Guess I'm going with a 23. Want the look, but ride 300-400 mile days often. Please give me your wheel size and if you feel it can be ridden for long periods. Thanks

Old 01-26-2012 | 10:15 AM
roadgliderick
Outstanding HDF Member

i just went the easy rider bike show and i was talking to paul yaffe about raking my neck myself. and i was going to buy the same set up as you wanna buy but when i started talking to paul about it he showed me his set up. looks very easy and solid and i think cheaper u buy his trees and his rake kit for around $700.00 the one u want i believe is more. and u have to weld down the back bone as well so long storey short is look into pauls rake kit as well. iam not affilated with him at all i just think his set up is quicker and very solid check it out. either way iam a retired bodyman and iam going with the yaffe rake kit i to am a certified mig and tig welder as well as any other types of welding good luck to ya and be safe.

Old 01-26-2012 | 10:21 AM
gogogadgetbiker