Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2010 Vance and Hines Hi-output slipon vs. ????

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2011, 08:26 AM
5W0P3
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2010 Vance and Hines Hi-output slipon vs. ????

While i'm pretty new to Harley's in general i'm not new to the mechanical and aftermarket world for motorcycles fourwheerlers and other toys.

I picked up the Vance and Hines High Output slip on the other day and now i've decided to gut my cat out, which i'll probably do this weekend. The question is, I felt a little loss when I put the slip on - on it seems. Now I know buy gutting the cat i'll be getting closer to needing a fuelpak or a PC-V but would I have been better to go with another pipe instead? It seems everything I read about the V&H is that it's for either highly modded motors or much larger motors. Harley dealer has a 2010 (single out) 4" Rinehart slip-on for $280 that i'm thinking bout picking up and trading out the V&H for. Would that benefit me? Am I splitting hairs?

***UPDATE*** (Page 2)
Picked up a single out rinehart and going to gut the cat this weekend! 12-18-2012 - V&H High Output Slip On with 20 miles on it - FOR SALE!

Last edited by 5W0P3; 12-15-2011 at 10:00 PM.
Old 12-12-2011, 08:36 AM
Texas Fat Boy
Extreme HDF Member
Received 34 Likes on 22 Posts

The Vance and Hines High Output slip on is made for highly modded motors. It is very open (low back pressure on fairly stock motors) and is very loud from what I've read.
So you probably did loose some low end torque.

The 4" Rinehart slip-on was made to compete with the Vance & Hines Monster series mufflers.
They are not very loud, but has a deeper low rumble.

If you want some noise you'll need the 3 1/2" Rinehearts or the regular Vance & Hines.

Old 12-12-2011, 08:41 AM
5W0P3
Cruiser