Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Built the best engine cooling system...again

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2013, 08:43 PM
Arizona
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by Pooh AKA Bear
Deposit sent! I have spent my entire Sunday reading all 140 pages of post! I've been running with a 120r for 2 years. Love it! It wants to run but lumping along in traffic, stop and go, hot Texas heat she would always start shutting down the rear. OT would be around 280. Installed a Thundermax one month ago thinking this would solve my heat issues. No deal....my bike was running great before the Thundermax, now it is even better. Quicker throttle response, no decel popping, puts a smile on my face with every throttle twist! BUT the heat is worse....in slow traffic in the daytime heat my engine light will start flashing. OT will be 310 -315. Even in slow traffic in the evenings this occurs. Sent the data to Thundermax, was told they don't believe that shutting down the rear cylinder is good temp management. So they disable it in their tuners. He couldn't really offer any advice other than to continue to ride it and it should get better. NOT....I hate sitting in traffic stopped by construction, and cooking my engine and leg. Looking for the nearest exit to get over and shut her down, yesterday was the last straw. I researched all night long for all solutions, and I believe I have made the best decision based on Jason's hard work, determination and integrity! Can't wait to get my unit and report back!