Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is there a shoulder to cry on?

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2006, 08:03 PM
Hey Zeus
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is there a shoulder to cry on?

Hello everyone. Here's my situation, and hopefully I'll feel better after hearing from some of you or just getting it off my chest. I purchased a 2006 Street Glide last year (Aug. '05). I have had 8 Harleys prior and all were used bikes that I maintained or customized back to new, etc. I waited many years to finally have my new one.....I did all my research, I studied, I made sure it would fit all my needs. Hell, I even bought a '76 basket case Ironhead Sporty to have as my barhopper / constant project bike. Okay, so here comes the real let-down. I have gained interest, since buying the Glide, in the hot rod scene (moreso the rat rod market that would cost me a fractin of what the Street Glide cost). I thought it would be more practical to take the kids out in, to use more during the colder months, etc. So I listed the Glide on Ebay. It has been listed 2 times and the highest bid has been 15,300.00. It only has 3,000 miles and is truly showroom new (I am a fanatic). I was happy inside that she didn't sell, but at the same time, it really made me upset to realize these bikes just don't hold the same value they did up till a couple of years ago. Harley rode the wave until the bubble burst. The bikes are still worth more than most other manufacturers can claim to hold, but what a depressing, reality check-type situation I found myself in. I am not in dire need to sell the bike, and by the same token, there are far worse predicaments to be in other than having a new Glide, but have any of you found yourself in similar situations regarding sale/resale situations with your rides? Let's face it, we love these things,