Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

wheel weights

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2011, 09:28 AM
rlawless
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default wheel weights

Does anyone else have this problem, wheel weights (the stick on type) keep coming off wheels. I live in Phoenix and it does get really hot on the road and in my garage. The weights seperate from the tape that holds the weight to the wheel. I have no experience with dyna beads. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Old 08-18-2011, 09:40 AM
harlowr
Advanced

Some say dyna beads don't work or are just a gimic. I had them put in my rear tire last year. Bike rides smooth. Don't notice any vibration or anything. I will keep using them myself.

Old 08-18-2011, 10:30 AM
CHOPPIN' CHARLIE
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Cool Wheel balancing

I had same problem. My 'BEAUTY' rests in a building with temp up to 105 or so. Adhesive strips would melt and release and no amount of cleaning the chrome? wheels and installing new strips would work. Took a while to get the Dyna Beads in but do see see an improvement in the ride. >500 miles and I like. My trouble with the beads was failure to get the tire off the floor. That figgured out and they went it as instructed. Plan to use them on car and truck also. I'm told they never wear out and can be re-used on next tire purchase. Remove and reuse may be more than the tire guys in my area can handle.

Old 08-18-2011, 10:32 AM
steelerdude1
Grand HDF Member
Received 286 Likes on 217 Posts

I have ran Dyna Beads for years, they always work. I mount my own tires, and have never had a balance issue. I do not run wheel weights at all.