Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch Lever / Clutch Cable Questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2011, 03:14 PM
adam4766
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch Lever / Clutch Cable Questions

i have a 2011 flhtk with the 103 ci motor. after about 500 miles or so i started noticing that if i let the clutch lever out and was on the throttle and then let off the throttle and let the engine "brake" that it would snap the clutch lever to its full out position. basically it would remove all the freeplay in the cable and pull the clutch lever to its full out position. the faster you let off the throttle or the harder the engine braked the harder it snapped the lever. you could hear the lever snap over the radio so it was quite noticeable. so i started playing with the lever and how it reacted. if you held on the clutch lever just enough to remove the freeplay and got onto the throttle the clutch lever would pull in towards the handlebar. if you let off the throttle it would be pulled away from the handlebar. i took it back to the dealership twice and had them look at it. they ended up setting my clutch with the bare minimum freeplay (1/16" measured at the back of the lever housing between the housing and the cable). to me this is not right. they are saying it is normal because of the motor moving. i work on cars and trucks and the reason behind a cable and not linkage is so that the motor can move and not affect how the component works. throttle cables in cars dont rev the motor higher or lower as the engine torques. i am just looking for inputs or if anyone else has seen or heard of this problem. thank you for your help. if you have any other questions i will answer them the best i can. the bike now has 2500 miles on it and it still does this. adam

Old 06-18-2011, 04:52 AM
neverhme
Cruiser