Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I buy 1999 Road King

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2011 | 03:45 PM
icfan2221
|
Stage I
Default Should I buy 1999 Road King

So im new to the Harley world and Im looking to get my first bike. Just looked at a 1999 Road King that has 62,000 miles on it. It had Big Bore kit done 20k ago it has thunderheader pipes and a big sucker exhaust. The guy is a private seller and he bought it from harley a year ago. Its a nice bike, clean and runs well, no obvious problems. Just wondering if this is something good to get into or if the mileage is too high, or if its just not a good idea. I like the bike it fits me well and I like how it rides. He wants $6200 for the bike which is where my current budget is but I'm wondering if im better off waiting and saving for something newer and possible better. And if Ill be getting into a slew of problems in the future with a high mileage bike. Any help or opinions is great fully accepted. Thank You

Old 04-13-2011 | 03:50 PM
skydrifter
Road Captain

I would take the bike to a good mechanic have him check it out , the EVO is a good engine.

Old 04-13-2011 | 04:04 PM
Wibbo
Intermediate

Not an evo, '99 would be a twinkie.
Make sure the cam bearings have been upgraded, then ride the **** out of it.
Bought my '99 road king a year ago and had some initial fuel injection issues, after a remap no troubles.... so far

Old 04-13-2011 | 04:10 PM
lkr0
Elite HDF Member

correct 99 = TC88; take it to a qualified mechanic and have it looked over twice. if it's in good to excellent shape you should get lots of miles out of it.
Originally Posted by Wibbo
Bought my '99 road king a year ago and had some initial fuel injection issues, after a remap no troubles.... so far

Last edited by lkr0; 04-13-2011 at 04:12 PM.
Old 04-13-2011 | 04:14 PM
Mr_B