Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How did you learn to ride?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2011, 11:21 PM
porkchopsd
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How did you learn to ride?

Another thread got me to thinking, I am curious to see the different ways people learned to ride? Did you learn from a friend/dad/brother, take a course, teach yourself and what if anything do you do to improve your riding skills/abilities? Reason I ask, I was pretty much self taught, got my first sporty an 883 in 86, rode for about a year, 20K on the bike got in wreck, didn’t ride for years after then got back into bikes in 03 did a ride from Denver to Sturgis and I was hooked again. I found I was much more mature in the way I road, took a more defensive riding posture, I also picked up a great book called Proficient Motorcycling by David Hough, I thought I knew how to ride a big bike but I found out I didn’t know sh** Cornering lines, low speed handling, feathering the clutch, road hazards, quick brake techniques, he covers a ton of good stuff. If I can convince just one of you to pick it up, I would be happy. I also listen to old riders whenever I am lucky enough to hear them pass along a nugget of wisdom they have been around a long time for a reason. Can't cut all risk out of riding but I think you can improve your odds.

Old 01-04-2011, 11:28 PM
emwolb
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts