Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Knees

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2011, 11:37 AM
VicDawg
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool New Knees

So, I've been putting off knee surgery form many years. Now, they are going to have to replace both knees. I'll be doing the right one on the 10th of January and the left as soon as the right one has healed sufficiently. I have been riding for over 40 years so I have no qualms about that, my fear is if the bike ever starts to go down, the natural reaction is to hold it up and keep it from touching the ground. I am wondering what the stress of holding up close to 900lbs in a somewhat precarious position would do to an artificial joint, of course, I'll have that conversation with my surgeon, but I was curios whether anyone here has any advice. Thanks!

Old 01-04-2011, 03:25 PM
my67pnycar
Elite HDF Member
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Good luck with your surgery, hope it turns out well for you and you are back in the saddle before you know it. When 900lbs decides it wants to take a nap, let her go, thats what insurance is for. Its not worth your health to try and save a few dollars in damage that will occur, just my .02. Hope that helps you out some. Good luck.

Old 01-04-2011, 04:05 PM
PJ 08 annv ultra
Novice

Had both replaced a year ago Dec 8 by a type of joint made by DePuy that can rotate like the original, took first ride in April here in Michigan. I was nervous at first but glad I did both at the same time.
I don't even think about my knees being "fake" and have enjoyed riding better now with no more pain. Good luck and do your homework on the Doctors.
Pat

Old 01-04-2011, 04:11 PM
dan conner
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts